RICHMOND RESTAURANT REVIEW (RRR)

RICHMOND RESTAURANT REVIEW (RRR) This page is to help Richmond/ Tri Cities folk know where and when to visit local restaurants as well as the specials provided to its customers.

Your comments on local restaurants are invited but some may be omitted depending on your comments.Thanks!

Operating as usual

The votes are in! Congrats to those who made the list. We look forward to visiting some places on here we have not been!
08/25/2021
Best & Worst 2021: Food & Drink

The votes are in!
Congrats to those who made the list.
We look forward to visiting some places on here we have not been!

The results of Richmond magazine’s annual reader survey

Quick Bite…..Checked out the new late Summer menu at Hobnob…clear winners were the Watermelon salad, the Shrimp and Grit...
08/16/2021

Quick Bite…..Checked out the new late Summer menu at Hobnob…clear winners were the Watermelon salad, the Shrimp and Grits, and Chicken Enchilada. The fried oysters and Chicken Spring Rolls apps were a nice start. Once again, Hobnob gives great service, tasty dishes, and a casual atmosphere that’s sure to please. Make your reservation soon.

How wonderful to live in Richmond and be able to experience the unique and varied cuisines that are offered throughout t...
08/13/2021

How wonderful to live in Richmond and be able to experience the unique and varied cuisines that are offered throughout the city. The anticipation of a great meal is now accompanied by the thrill of adventure as you can be challenged with foods and terminology that are not all that familiar, but offer great rewards for the inquisitive. Even as you drive to the restaurant, one can see a RVA neighborhood’s transformation, remember where we have been, and appreciate the cultural changes that have made us today a vibrant, growing city. Journeying to the Chimborazo area, Alewife checks all the boxes, and offers you an exceptional evening of dining.
Starting with cocktails, where even their tonic is homemade, we were delighted with a mocktail that featured a very dry pineapple flavor. That was preceded by one of the most interesting apps that we have had, the Okonomiyaki Waffle, buoyed by a Smoked Trout Dip,Bulldog sauce, and Bonito. You must try this..it is so flavorful and ranks as one of the best appetizers that we have recently had and will go to the top of our top five list. Also, the Beef Tartare was some of the best we have ever had.
Our entrees did not disappoint.
We are very particular about our Scallops and very critical as to how they are cooked. Alewife did it perfectly and the Eggplant,Shish*to, Tomato Dashi and crispy Okra accented the plate to make the total presentation amazing.
Both Rockfish and the large Swordhish chop with Ricotta Polenta, Broccolini and Tomato sauce were flaky and superbly prepared. Finally, our guest took on the 15 oz special Ribeye and while not able to conquer it , she commented that it was as good if not better than the top steakhouses in town. She also appreciated the precuts that made the slicing all the easier.
Finishing with the Raspberry Pavlova,…yes..named for the Russian ballerina, we were delighted and so appreciative of the great service and new experience. BTW..all of the desserts were divine.
Alewife delivers a great meal and we highly recommend it. Be aware that is a smaller space, so when at capacity, two couples having a conversation can be somewhat challenging with a noise level that is to be expected.
And if you are like us, when you first see the menu..enhance your experience and don’t be shy to Google. 😁

Returning for the first time since before the Pandemic, would Edo’s Squid still give us dishes that fulfill that urge fo...
08/07/2021

Returning for the first time since before the Pandemic, would Edo’s Squid still give us dishes that fulfill that urge for Italian? Absolutely. From opening that door on Harrison and getting that first blast of Garlic, to hearing the buzz of the patrons at their tables, already enjoying their meals and conversations, Edo’s is still Edo’s, a great RVA institution where you will come out smiling.
We went with our favorite old standbys, some may find the selection a bit boring, but we needed our ‘fix’. Calamari to start, and Tiramisu to finish with our two favorite entrees delighting us…
The mushrooms, garlic,and olive oil pasta simply prepared and called Spaghetti Karl has always been one of our go to dishes. Putting together essential elements that create such a big, broad, seem impossible but Edo’s excels at it. The Seafood Fra Diavolo was requested as an alternative to the Shrimp dish which the Chef quickly agreed and gave us a bowl of mussels, shrimp, and fish with that kick to let you know that the heat was definitely there. Just like every other time at Edo’s, we felt at home, happy and ultimately satisfied. Would it be too weird to say after everything associated with COVID, that we needed this?
A resounding yes.

Amber wouldn’t give us her recipe for her incredible spoon bread. We knew she wouldn’t when we asked. Her restaurant pre...
07/29/2021

Amber wouldn’t give us her recipe for her incredible spoon bread. We knew she wouldn’t when we asked. Her restaurant prepares wonderful dishes that have been cultivated and handed down through her family, all exceptional.
From the homemade potato chips, so crispy and seasoned, that start off your meal to the hush puppies and heavenly spoon bread that accompany your entrees, every bite is delicious. The spoon bread is in a league of its own, buttery and…well, we don’t know what else is in it😁😁.
Our lunch consisted of stuffed shrimp with crabmeat, Cajun shrimp tacos, and crab legs. All were prepared perfectly and generously apportioned.
To top it off, a fried Cheesecake drizzled with caramel was shared by all three of us, and couldn’t be finished. Absolutely out of this world.
If it wasn’t for our excellent server, Alyssa, with her recommendations, we would have missed out on much of this. Halterman’s is the kind of place you would love to take the family. It’s so friendly, wholesome, and outrageously delicious. Take a break and a drive to Halterman’s Eatery.
And thank you Amber and Alyssa for a very satisfying afternoon.

What a great way to start the morning! Bloody’s, listening to Bachman Turner Overdrive, and watching five chefs hustling...
07/25/2021

What a great way to start the morning! Bloody’s, listening to Bachman Turner Overdrive, and watching five chefs hustling around the kitchen putting great plates together…beginning your morning at The Grill at Libbie and Patterson will get your heart and mind ready for the day.
We were not shy…sometimes you have to just let it go.
The Chicken and Waffles sandwich with cheese, bacon, and a fried egg was a tower of pure excess..and we loved it. It is easily shareable but go ahead and go it alone. The Mushroom Reuben was one of the best we have ever had without meat. Both were quickly prepared and perfectly served.
Next time you are cruising down Patterson, don’t pass the Grill without giving it a try.

It’s like the spirit of Steve ‘Mr.Beach’ Leonard,when he introduced Julius Pittman & the Revival to start the evening’s ...
07/24/2021

It’s like the spirit of Steve ‘Mr.Beach’ Leonard,when he introduced Julius Pittman & the Revival to start the evening’s festivities at Shenanigans, was there to get everyone into a great mood. Demi’s immediately puts you in a great frame of mind. The staff is hustling, and you can see that they love each other, all having a great time making sure the room is well served. There are no empty tables. And we know why…the setting, the service, The FOOD….is all first rate. Count us in…we are smitten with Demi’s.
We started with the Spanish fried eggplant..chips with honey thyme drizzle and sesame seeds that were so unique and tasty. A sweetness not usually associated with the eggplant, and sure to be a favorite app. The Saganaki also was dazzling, rivaling the dish we just had at a favorite Greek restaurant.
Moving on to our entrees, the Shrimp Santorini served over pasta was beautifully executed with fresh garlic,herbs, tomato, and feta cheese. The pasta absorbed the bold flavors and was perfect. One of the diners with us also added spinach to further broaden the taste.
The Grilled Salmon over pasta featured a mixture of sun dried tomatoes and a caper relish that was right on point. The fish was moist and so well broiled that it fell apart with a touch of the fork.
When a restaurant can elevate your spirits as well as give you a first class dining experience, it is something to return to…and we will.
In fact, we will need to try it’s sister establishment, Dot’s Back Inn, soon as well. A big highly recommended.
And wear your island attire…And relax…we know that Mr.Beach would approve..

Journeying into the Devil’s Triangle, the land of Bandito’s, Buddy’s, and the Sheppard Street Grille, we decided to see ...
07/23/2021

Journeying into the Devil’s Triangle, the land of Bandito’s, Buddy’s, and the Sheppard Street Grille, we decided to see what Izzy’s Kitchen was serving up for lunch. If you’re looking for a laid back atmosphere, great tasting food, and ample portions….this is the place. Don’t expect to go back to work without a nap..the portions are large!
We started with the Hummus platter, so smooth and tasty, with loads of veggies and bread to spread it on….we could have stopped there with a pleasantly satisfied stomach…but no, we persisted.
Our sandwiches, the Caprese with the fresh Mozarella, basil, tomatoes drenched with olive oil and balsamic vinegar on a baguette was so fresh and delightful while the Turkey Reuben had a tower of turkey that had to be taken home to finish. The Cole slaw and pasta salad were equally well done.
You won’t be disappointed with Izzy’s but you may need to exercise afterward. We suggest taking a hike to Buddy’s, pull up to the bar, and have a beer 😁😁

Having been in product development and marketing for over 30 years, you understand the balance of art and science in the...
07/21/2021

Having been in product development and marketing for over 30 years, you understand the balance of art and science in the finished product. Restaurants have their own balancing act…presentation and aesthetics accenting the main focus of serving a great meal. On this evening, we felt that the latter just didn’t hold its own against the aesthetic. Now, we want to emphasize that the food was all good.
The whole Bronzino was very tasty, cooked perfectly, and ample. It stood on its own with a touch of seasoning. The Sweet and Sour Scallops were a pleasant change served over the coconut rice noodles. Both Tuna Poke Bowl and the Hanger Steak Tataki small plates were tasty and nicely presented.
Brussels sprouts accented our meals nicely. Again, the food was good.
Just not inspiring.
We know pricing is somewhat subjective but we felt that the menu was slightly overpriced for what was delivered. Richmond has an incredible selection of restaurants that are offering knock out dishes every night…with these prices and the modern decor, we feel Perch needs to step it up a notch. Knock us out.
Finally, the parking lot behind the restaurant is not denoted as available for Perch patrons however the staff said it was. Signage would be nice to clarify that situation.
Remembering Joy Garden for so many years in this spot, we hope Perch has the same long term success in this wonderfully renovated location.

We couldn’t wait for the opening of Cameo Cakery on Libbie Avenue. Everything that we had heard about Christina Miller’s...
07/18/2021

We couldn’t wait for the opening of Cameo Cakery on Libbie Avenue. Everything that we had heard about Christina Miller’s unique creations led us to try her original Savory Cake….her custom decorated cakes had already pleased so many over the past 25 years. It’s like a quiche or cheesecake, but this gluten free personal Bundt cake is truly Christina’s own.
We had the Salmon Savory Cake…salmon with goat cheese, green onions, and fresh dill blended to perfection. What a wonderful way to start the morning ( or anytime actually). We split one and it was plenty as we plated it with soft scrambled eggs and fruit, but it could stand alone without issue. We bought several and gave them to our friends who raved as well about the texture and flavor.
When Cameo opens, it will include a bakery and cafe, and we will be sure to keep up with what Christina is up to next. Highly recommended.

It is rare that the total dining experience truly touches all the elements, not just the food and service, but having th...
07/15/2021

It is rare that the total dining experience truly touches all the elements, not just the food and service, but having the surroundings so comforting, that dinner and conversation are elevated to another level. The Portico does just that, in fact, it seduces you. From the cottage like interior with the bottles of wine accenting every corner, to the beautifully landscaped gardens with the stone fireplace and walkways, the Portico’s setting is more sophisticated comfort, far from the urban design and hipness of most RVA establishments.
Even the drive down River Road is a preamble to the relaxed environment that you are about to enter.
And the food…start with the Fried Artichokes with Goat cheese, Black olives, and a wonderful Basil sauce. Again, we are blown away by a simple appetizer, but all of us agreed that the burst of flavor perfectly complimented the artichoke.
We were slightly surprised with the Seafood Crepes, expecting bits of Shrimp, Crab, and Scallops , however, they were finely chopped creating a very tasty blend that was enhanced with the Seafood cream and Marinara. Such an unexpected pleasure.
The Flounder special was perfect with its creamy sauce to accompany the perfectly cooked fish. The Salmon Roulade and Baked Spaghetti also delighted the tastebuds. The Roulade was very tasty inside the Salmon and the Spaghetti boasted of a rich cheese and marinara topping.
Both deserts, the Chocolate ice cream and Vanilla custard put an exclamation to a perfectly enjoyable evening.
We hope to return to enjoy the garden on a less humid evening. A note to remember: you cannot move indoors if your outdoor seating becomes threatened by weather or heat, so keep that in mind when making your reservations.
Treat yourself to a very unique dining experience at the Portico.

Our third entry in the”apps that bring you back” is one that you can only get at Stellas. It’s not like this great eater...
07/09/2021

Our third entry in the”apps that bring you back” is one that you can only get at Stellas. It’s not like this great eatery needs anything special to bring you in…everything is wonderful here. This appetizer, the Mushroom Saganaki, boasts of such rich flavor, stemming from the flaming combination of Kefalograviera cheese and Plaki sauce, and combined with the marinated and grilled Portobello mushroom, gives the perfect bold combination of texture and taste. It is perfect.
Changing things up a bit, we went with the Artichoke Moussaka and Stella’s Crabcakes, both entrees mainstays of the menu and rightfully so. They are hard to beat. The artichoke was so tender, combined with the potato, sautéed Zucchini,onion, and Bechamel with a touch of Fennel. The Jumbo lump crab cakes were moist and all meat. A side of house Orzo completed the dish. The portions were ample, and very filling.
As usual, Stellas satisfies the palate, the appetite, and the soul.

On our last post we talked about great apps that draw us into a particular restaurant, so let’s continue that discussion...
07/08/2021

On our last post we talked about great apps that draw us into a particular restaurant, so let’s continue that discussion. There’s only three weeks left on the early Summer menu, but you must go to Hobnob to have their Blackened Shrimp on Fried Green Tomatoes. Absolutely to die for!!!Its so simple but what a wonderful treat…the sauce pulls everything together and believe us, it is memorable. We hope it stays on the menu, although the chef has actually been surprised by this great reception to this dish, it is scheduled to not be continued soon. So, go to the perfectly cooked Ahi or the Blackberry salad before you attack the simply wonderful Chicken sandwich, where the cheeses are so intertwined that their final topping is indeed dripping with such richness and flavor that you realize that you have never had a sandwich like this before. Please put this on your best chicken sandwich list!
Finish with the Peaches and cream topped Cheese cake. Such a light topping to a classic New York style cheesecake. Sublime. And it’s only lunch!!!

We have Mollusks on the mind….more often then we would like. This appetizer continually draws us in and it’s not like we...
06/25/2021

We have Mollusks on the mind….more often then we would like. This appetizer continually draws us in and it’s not like we haven’t eaten our share of octopus or calamari…just not as delightful. The Shaved Octopus drenched in Garlic is such a winner, it is always top of mind when we are selecting the bistro au jour. We love it, and now that you can get it at both East (and West) Coast Provisions, it’s a 20 minute drive from anywhere in the city to take care of the urge. So confess…do you have an app that has your number?

We have Mollusks on the mind….more often then we would like. This appetizer continually draws us in and it’s not like we haven’t eaten our share of octopus or calamari…just not as delightful. The Shaved Octopus drenched in Garlic is such a winner, it is always top of mind when we are selecting the bistro au jour. We love it, and now that you can get it at both East (and West) Coast Provisions, it’s a 20 minute drive from anywhere in the city to take care of the urge. So confess…do you have an app that has your number?

Over the years, we have always had excellent dinners at Hondos. The great food and rich atmosphere along with wonderful ...
06/22/2021

Over the years, we have always had excellent dinners at Hondos. The great food and rich atmosphere along with wonderful service was always on the mark. Recently….and unexpectedly…..we have been having lunches with all that you would expect from Hondos with one added plus…that is remarkably priced special entrees. After several visits, we are amazed at the selections, and with several glasses of wine, still within the limits of the average business lunch.
Try the Chicken Marsala with Asparagus and a mound of garlic potatoes. The sauce is rich and bold, and beautifully plated. Others, like the Salmon with veggies and asparagus, or the Coconut Shrimp equally satisfied the afternoon appetite.
Frankly, we can’t think of a nicer place to meet up with a client or the mother-in-law. Give it a try soon.

Address

Local Richmond Area Restaurants
Richmond, VA
23225

Opening Hours

Monday 11am - 10pm
Tuesday 11am - 10pm
Wednesday 11am - 10pm
Thursday 11am - 10pm
Friday 11am - 10pm
Saturday 11am - 10pm
Sunday 11am - 9pm

Alerts

Be the first to know and let us send you an email when RICHMOND RESTAURANT REVIEW (RRR) posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Videos

Nearby restaurants


Other Richmond restaurants

Show All

Comments

I just moved to Richmond and would love a few must-visit restaurant recommendations! I’m a big foodie coming from Jacksonville, FL. Thank you!
If you’re looking for a great brunch be sure to check out Lunch and Supper! They make their own English muffins for the benedicts..... yum!
Battered fried chicken taco, braised oxtail taco and hush puppy nachos..... everything was fresh and delicious..... If you haven’t been you are definitely missing a treat @soultacorva Delicious food and great staff! @ Soul Taco
Cocktail from Laura Lee’s very delicious drink with beet juice
If you’re looking for a good burger..... try Laura Lee’s and they have some great cocktails as well